May 15 Friday

Tough walk today to Arzua. Started out ok but lots of road walking at the end. The weather has been a bit cold the past two days. Sun out equals jacket off, sun hiding equals jacket on. No complaints though, we have been very fortunate with the weather. While walking the Norte, it has only rained hard a few times. The next two days look sunny and warm 😀.
Today, with about 5K out of Arzua we reached a sign of encouragement from our friends Albert and Carles from Catalonia. Carles hurt his knee and had to skip a couple legs. The sign really brightened our day and we hope to see our Spanish amigos in Santiago.
After about an hour and half later around 14:00 we reached the Camino France’s and it’s obvious. I’ve seen more pilgrims in the past hour than all of last week. I like it myself, but others seem dread this final leg of the Camino. Gerhart and Sandra didn’t like the vibe and went ahead about 5K to a privately owned albergue which is run by an Austrian. I decided to hang and enjoy the town that I stayed in a couple years ago. It has a lot to offer as far as accommodations and food. In fact, as I write this I’m eating a delicious carne empanada with a cold beer. Also, the suns out as I sit in the plaza watching the new faces come into town with their backpacks, hiking poles, and shells. It is inspiring for me to see the different types of people that have taken on the pilgrimage.
Before eating, I got a room at the private albergue “Fonte”. I had a lot of choices and this one has wood beds, great showers, good kitchen; not bad for 10e. Before leaving I was in the kitchen talking to two girls from Romania when I heard a familiar voice; it was Paul the Frenchman who was the first person I met on this Camino. He joined the Frances from the Primitivo and was checking in and getting the final bed. We had said our gooodbyes about two weeks ago when I continued on the North route and he went on the Primitive route. Now the person I started my walk with on the first day will be the one I start my walk with on the last day. For anyone who has walked a Camino, they know that this is not an accident. It’s how this thing works.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment